Varsity "K" Hall of Fame


Hall of Fame Quick Links:

Established in 1979, the Kent State University Varsity "K" Athletics Hall of Fame honors men and women whose exceptional performance on the athletic fields and, in later years in other fields, merits special recognition from their alma mater. Each year, the Varsity "K" Hall of Fame inductees, Distinguished Alumnus and Honorary Varsity "K" Member are honored at a banquet during basketball season.

Hall of Fame members are permanently enshrined in the Varsity "K" Hall of Fame located on the second floor of the Memorial Athletic and Convocation Center.

                                 2014 Varsity "K" Hall of Fame Induction
                                                   September 6, 2014
                                                             10 a.m.
                                 Kent State Hotel and Conference Center

2014 Hall of Fame Inductees

Tara Delaney, '08, Women's Golf
Kim Dimitroff, '08, Women's Soccer
Bob Hallen, '99, Football
DeAndre Haynes, '06, Men's Basketball
Mike Lude, Administrator
Bill Swettenham, '69, Men's Soccer
Melinda Wirtz, '97, Women's Track & Field

2014 Honorees

Distinguished Athletic Alumnus
Don Brown, '77, Football

Honorary Varsity "K"
Dave and Sherry Joy

Varisty "K" Person of the Year
Glenn Peterson, '84, Track & Field

Team of Distinction
1972 Football Team

TJ Sutton

Sport: Baseball
Major: Advertising
Anticipated graduation: 2014
Hometown: Uniontown, OH

"Being a Kent State student-athlete has opened doors on and off the field that I don't believe would've been possible anywhere else. The competitive nature that surrounds you on the field leaks into academics and prepares you to be better than others in your future career. My experiences at KSU have shown me that there is no goal that is unachievable if you put in the necessary time and effort."